Final Election Results

Written by David E. Smith
The Illinois State Board of Elections recently released the certified election results.  Here are the numbers:

Governor-elect Bruce Rauner (R) won a slim majority of the total votes and by 142,284 votes over incumbent Patrick Quinn (D).  Voter turnout was 49 percent, and compared to the 2010 gubernatorial election was down two percent, or 112,353 less voters in the 2014 election.

Incumbent Democratic Attorney General Lisa Madigan won decisively with 59 percent of the total vote, beating Republican challenger Paul Schimpf who received little support from the Republican establishment in Illinois.

Liberal Republican Judy Baar-Topinka won the Comptroller race over Democratic Lt. Governor Sheila Simon with a plurality of the total votes but significantly below her 52.6 percent from her state-wide race four years ago.

State Senator Michael Frerichs (D-Champaign) won the Treasurer race with a plurality of the vote over liberal State Representative Tom “Double” Cross (R-Plainfield)  by 9,225 votes…It is interesting to note that 94,009 less people voted in the Treasurer race than the Attorney General race.  And 76,082 less people voted in the Treasurer race than Comptroller.  Gee, I wonder if Tom Cross’ radical Leftist votes on marriage, marijuana, sex-education and gambling expansion alienated tens of thousands of voters and caused a tremendous under vote.

And according to the Associated Press:

The board’s canvass showed first-term Democratic Rep. Kate Cloonen beating Republican challenger Glenn Nixon in the Kankakee area 50.2 percent to 49.8 percent.

Freshman Democratic Rep. Mike Smiddy beat Republican Jim Wozniak in the Quad Cities region 50.5 percent to 49.6 percent.

And Deputy Majority Leader Frank Mautino won a 13th term in north-central Illinois over the GOP’s Jerry Lee Long, 50.5 percent to 49.5 percent.

Those three Democrats won by a grand total of 773 votes.

And here is a look at turnout numbers and percentages in gubernatorial election years: